Subscribe

Subscribe Today!

To sign up for our newsletter or print publications, please enter your contact information below.

I'd like to receive:

Relatlimab plus Nivolumab versus Nivolumab Alone in First-Line Advanced Melanoma: Primary Results from RELATIVITY-047

Conference Correspondent  - Dual IO 2021 Year in Review

Many tumor types, including melanoma, have an upregulated immune checkpoint pathway involving lymphocyte-activation gene-3 (LAG-3) that inhibits T-cell activity. Relatlimab (RELA) is a human IgG4 anti–LAG-3 antibody that can restore the effector function of T-cells. RELA plus nivolumab (NIVO), an anti–PD-1 drug, may be able to augment antitumor immune responses by modulating synergistic immune checkpoint pathways. RELATIVITY-047 was a global, randomized, double-blind, phase 2/3 study evaluating a novel immune checkpoint inhibitor combination of RELA plus NIVO as a fixed-dose combination first-line treatment in advanced melanoma.1

Patients with advanced melanoma (N = 714) who had not been previously treated were randomized to RELA 160 mg plus NIVO 480 mg intravenously (IV) every 4 weeks (n = 355) or NIVO alone 480 mg IV every 4 weeks (n = 359). The patients were divided into cohorts by LAG-3 expression, PD-1 expression, BRAF mutation status, and stage. The primary end point was progression-free survival (PFS). Secondary end points were overall survival and objective response rate. Additional objectives were PFS in subgroups: LAG-3 (≥1% compared with <1%), BRAF (mutation positive compared with mutation wild-type), and American Joint Committee on Cancer M stage.1

The median PFS in the group receiving RELA plus NIVO was 10.1 months (95% confidence interval [CI], 6.4-15.7) and 4.6 months (95% CI, 3.4-5.6) in the NIVO monotherapy group (hazard ratio, 0.75; 95% CI, 0.62-0.92; P = .0055).1,2 The PFS at 12 months was 47.7% (95% CI, 41.8-53.2) for the RELA plus NIVO cohort and 36.0% (95% CI, 30.5-41.6) for NIVO alone.1,2 This benefit was also shown in the PFS rates in the subgroups.1

In the combination RELA plus NIVO group, the incidence of grade 3/4 treatment-related adverse events (TRAEs) was 18.9% compared with 9.7% in the NIVO monotherapy group. TRAEs of any grade led to discontinuation of therapy in 14.6% of the patients in the RELA plus NIVO group and 6.7% of those in the NIVO group. In addition, there were 3 treatment-related deaths with RELA plus NIVO and 2 with NIVO alone.1

In conclusion, first-line therapy of advanced melanoma with combination RELA plus NIVO demonstrated a benefit in PFS that was statistically significant compared with that of NIVO alone. This combination therapy was well-tolerated with manageable adverse events. This was the first phase 3 study of a novel fixed-dose combination to demonstrate a clinically meaningful benefit by dual inhibition of the LAG-3 and PD-1 pathways.1

References

  1. Lipson EJ, Tawbi AHH, Schadendorf D, et al. Relatlimab (RELA) plus nivolumab (NIVO) versus NIVO in first-line advanced melanoma: primary phase III results from RELATIVITY-047 (CA224-047). J Clin Oncol. 2021;39(suppl_15):9503-9503.
  2. Hodi FS, Tawbi HA, Lipson EJ, et al. Relatlimab (RELA) + nivolumab (NIVO) vs. NIVO in previously untreated metastatic or unresectable melanoma: additional efficacy in RELATIVITY-047. Presented at: 2021 ESMO Congress; September 16-21, 2021. Abstract 10360.
Related Items
Phase 2 Study of Nivolumab plus Ipilimumab in Metastatic Uveal Melanoma
Conference Correspondent  published on December 16, 2021 in Dual IO 2021 Year in Review
Phase 2 Trial of Nivolumab plus Ipilimumab for Treatment-Naïve Metastatic Uveal Melanoma: Spanish Multidisciplinary Melanoma Group (GEM-1402)
Conference Correspondent  published on December 16, 2021 in Dual IO 2021 Year in Review
Benefits of Dual I-O Therapy in Metastatic Uveal Melanoma
Sanjiv S. Agarwala, MD
Conference Correspondent  published on December 16, 2021 in Dual IO 2021 Year in Review
Nivolumab plus Ipilimumab as First-Line Therapy in Patients with Advanced Melanoma: 6.5-Year Update from CheckMate-067
Conference Correspondent  published on December 16, 2021 in Dual IO 2021 Year in Review
Nivolumab plus Relatlimab in the Neoadjuvant and Adjuvant Settings for Patients with Resectable Clinical Stage III Melanoma
Conference Correspondent  published on December 16, 2021 in Dual IO 2021 Year in Review
Dual Immune Checkpoint Inhibitors in Advanced Cutaneous Melanoma
Sanjiv S. Agarwala, MD
Conference Correspondent  published on December 15, 2021 in Dual IO 2021 Year in Review
Phase 2 Study of the Anti-TIGIT Antibody Tiragolumab plus Atezolizumab versus Placebo plus Atezolizumab as First-Line Treatment in Patients with PD-L1–Selected NSCLC: CITYSCAPE
Conference Correspondent  published on December 14, 2021 in Dual IO 2021 Year in Review
COAST: An Open-Label, Randomized, Phase 2 Platform Study of Durvalumab Alone or in Combination with Novel Agents in Patients with Locally Advanced, Unresectable, Stage III NSCLC
Conference Correspondent  published on December 14, 2021 in Dual IO 2021 Year in Review
First-Line Nivolumab plus Ipilimumab in Unresectable Malignant Pleural Mesothelioma: 3-Year Update from CheckMate-743
Conference Correspondent  published on December 14, 2021 in Dual IO 2021 Year in Review
Benefits of Dual I-O Therapy in NSCLC and Malignant Pleural Mesothelioma
Mark A. Socinski, MD
Conference Correspondent  published on December 14, 2021 in Dual IO 2021 Year in Review
Copyright © Green Hill Healthcare Communications, LLC. All rights reserved.